IBF Press Release
Day two of Junior Men's Nationals Offers Enthralling Action

The young glove men of India battled it out for the title of ‘Junior National Champion’ in the preliminary rounds of the 45th Junior Men National Boxing Championship in Patiala on Sunday (13 May 2012). Day two promised to offer enthralling action with some of the well know names in the junior circuit taking to the rings. The five day event, that got under way on Saturday, is being organised by the Punjab State Boxing Association under the aegis of the Indian Amateur Boxing Federation. Aimed at strengthening the level of boxing in the country the event also makes for a fine example of corporate support provided by Monnet Ispat & Energy Limited.???The championships being held in Punjab from the?12th?? 16th?May 2012?will feature altogether 228 boxers from 33 state/board teams vying for top honours.

PL Prasad continued his winning streak in the light fly weight division. The 16 year old who has been bagging the gold medal at the sub-junior and junior nationals for the last four years advanced to the next round with another riveting performance. The SSCB boxer completely outclassed Amit Kumar Srivastava of Meghalaya; he beat the Srivastava 10:3 on points to make a place in the quarter-finals of the championship. In the round of eight he will lock horns with Amit Panghal of Haryana. Panghal, the pin weight silver medallist from last year, trounced Ashish Sharma from UP in lop sided contest (22:6) to make his place in the next round. Andhra boxers K Sagar once again had to dig deep to get past the solid defence of Delhi State Champion Pawan Singh. There was not much separating the two boxers in the first four minutes of play with the scores knotted at 4 all. But in the final round Sagar took a crucial one point lead with a nice left cross. The former sub-junior national champion and a silver medallist at the Youth National Championships last year, advanced to the quarters with a victory on points (8:7). He now takes on Kuldeep Bholane of Maharashtra who beat P Parmod of Chhattisgarh to set up the clash.

In the fly weight class, A. Silambarasan the light bantam weight silver medallist from 2011 was once again at his best, this time against Atul Chandran of Kerala. The 16 year old needed less than two minutes to advance to the next round and get rid of the Keral Boxer (RSC OC 8:0 R1). He will battle it out with Bound Benjamin of Jharkhand in the next round for a place in the semi-finals. Benjamin defeated Bijen Singh of Manipur in the pre quarters on points 13:10. Abhay Singh of the services scored a thumping win over Moi Rangthem Tondonba of Arunachal Pradesh. The bronze medal winner at the 2010 Junior National boxing championship did not need more than two rounds to complete the win. He was leading 9:4 when the referee stopped the contest. Singh will now fight against Ashish Gautam of UP who drubbed Delhi state champion Yogesh Tokas in his pre quarter-final bout. The day also saw an upset in the form of David Singh of Nagaland. The two time junior national champion suffered defeat at the hands of Ravindra Balhara from Orissa in what was a fight to the finish. Singh, who down 4 points after the second round, made a stunning recovery in third and it seemed that victory would be his. But Balhara held onto the advantage and managed to scrape past the Naga boxer into the quarters.?

In the light welter weight division, reigning youth national champion Deepak Tanwar of the Services team thrashed Vikas Kumar from Bihar to make his way into the round of eight. 2010 Junior National silver medallist Malkhan Singh of Haryana also scored an easy victory over Thingham Laljinglemba of Arunachl Pradesh. The two powerful boxers will take on each other in the quarters on Monday (14 May 2012).

For complete day 2 results and the quarter-final line up of the 45th Junior Men National Boxing Championship kindly visit?www.indiaboxing.in.


More IBF Press Release

Media Registration | Boxing Training Centers | Boxing Training Center Registration | Help & Feedback | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Copyright | Contact Us

© Indian Boxing Federation 2008-2024, All Rights Reserved

Designed, Developed & Maintained By: Proglogix Research and Development (P) Ltd